Apr 12

Delta Empire Wins the J. G. Ragsdale Book Award in Arkansas History

“Delta Empire” Wins the J. G. Ragsdale Book Award in Arkansas History

Baton Rouge, LADelta Empire: Lee Wilson and the Transformation of Agriculture in the New South, by Jeannie Whayne, won the J.G. Ragsdale Book Award in Arkansas history, presented annually by the Arkansas Historical Association. The award, which recognizes Delta Empire as the year’s best nonfiction book on Arkansas history, will be presented at the association’s annual conference, April 12–14, 2012, in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Continue reading →

Mar 12

LSU Press Books and Authors Garner Awards in 2012

Contact: Erin Rolfs
225.578.8282/ erolfs@lsu.edu

LSU Press Books and Authors Garner Awards in 2012

 Baton Rouge, LA—This year several LSU Press books and authors have already been acknowledged for outstanding contributions to their fields. These awards reinforce LSU Press’s commitment to excellence and their contributions to Louisiana State University’s 2020 flagship agenda.

Continue reading →

Mar 11

Two LSU Press authors tie for the TN History Book Award

We publish such great books you can’t pick just one! Congratulations to Sam Davis Elliott, author of Isham G. Harris of Tennessee, and J. Roderick Heller, author of Democracy’s Lawyer, who were both awarded the 2010 Tennessee History Book Award.

From the Chairman of the TLA Selection Committee, Carol Roberts: “Each year Tennessee Library Association and Tennessee Historical Commission present an award to the most qualified history book that reflects TN history.  This year LSU press had two biographies that really presented fresh topics in the category.  These were so well written and presented that they tied.”

Aug 10

Big news for Journalism’s Roving Eye!

A Trifecta of Awards for Journalism’s Roving Eye: A History of American Foreign Reporting by John Maxwell Hamilton

Louisiana State University Provost Hamilton’s Work Lauded for Its Significant Contribution


Only one book can claim the 2010 American Journalism Historians Association Book of the Year, the Goldsmith Award, and now the 2010 Tankard Book Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC).

Continue reading →

Jul 10

LSU Press to be honored at FHL Preservation Awards Dinner

From The Advocate (Baton Rouge):

LSU Press is receiving the honor on its 75th anniversary and for its record of volumes related to Louisiana’s heritage. Editor Mary Katherine Callaway will accept the award.  Since 1935, LSU Press has worked to preserve the culture and history of Louisiana by publishing books that educate and enlighten readers. From Local Government in Louisiana by R.L. Carleton in 1937 to George Lowry’s classic Louisiana Birds in 1958; from Marsh Mission by C.C. Lockwood and Rhea Gary in 2005 to Archaeology of Louisiana, edited by Mark A. Rees in 2010, the LSU Press continues to strive to publish books that matter.”

Foundation for Historical Louisiana’s 34th annual
Preservation Awards Dinner

Thursday, July 22. Social hour starts at 6:30 p.m., followed by dinner
and program at 7:30 p.m.

Hilton Capitol Center, 201 Lafayette St.

$75 for FHL members; $85 for guests. For reservations, call (225)
387-2464 or visit http://www.fhl.org.

Writer, historian and preservationist Leo Honeycutt will serve as
master of ceremonies for the cocktail-attire event.

Jun 10

Fred Chappell wins North Carolina state honor

9780807134528 Fred Chappell, author of dozens of collections of poetry, most recently Shadow Box, has received the John Tyler Caldwell Award for the Humanities.  The award is North Carolina's highest honor in the field of humanities.  Read the article linked below for more information.  Congratulations, Fred! 

Former UNCG professor wins state honor [NC News & Record]

Jun 10

Hamilton’s book a Tankard Book Award finalist

9780807134740 John Maxwell Hamilton's latest book, Journalism's Roving Eye: A History of American Foreign Reporting, has been named as one of three finalists for the 2010 Tankard Award, sponsored by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC).  The winner will be announced on August 4th. Click the link below to read more.  

AEJMC Announces 2010 Tankard Book Award Finalists

May 10

Finley wins prestigious D. B. Hardeman Prize

9780807133453 Keith M. Finley, author of Delaying the Dream: Southern Senators and the Fight against Civil Rights, 1938-1965, was recently awarded the prestigious D. B. Hardeman Prize offered by the Lyndon B. Johnson Library for the best book that furthers the study of the US Congress.  

Dr. Betty Koed, Assistant Historian in the Office of the United States Senate, and a member of the Hardeman Prize Committee, had this to say about Professor Finley’s book:

"The Senate of the 1930s, '40s, and '50s, with its dominance by seniority, its tradition of nearly unlimited debate, and its club-like atmosphere, was uniquely suited to the cause of civil rights opposition. As Finley argues, "Southern senators, in effect, transformed the chamber into a citadel of their interests." As the Civil Rights movement advanced, segregationists realized that their strength to defend Jim Crow was waning, and subsequently they shifted their strategy to one of delay rather than complete obstruction. That shift did not happen suddenly, but developed gradually, beginning with the battle over antilynching bills in the 1930s. By forming strong coalitions with northern and western conservatives, segregationists devised a "southern strategy" for legislative action that successfully forestalled civil rights reform for three decades. Finley is by no means an apologist for the segregationists, but he skillfully uncovers the multi-layered tactics of the southern caucus that so successfully dictated policy, while exploring the constitutional arguments carefully devised by southern senators.

Delaying the Dream is an excellent addition to the literature on civil rights reform in America. In particular, Finley deftly describes the Senate of the mid-20th century. He emphasizes the necessity of understanding Senate rules and procedures as well as the importance of committee action, while adding another chapter to the continuing debate over the filibuster. Delaying the Dream is essential reading for civil rights historians and those seeking to understand the Senate's unique folkways."

Apr 10

Eleanor Ross Taylor wins $100,000 Poetry Prize!


Congratulations to Eleanor Ross Taylor, author Captive Voices, for winning the $100,000 Ruth Lilly Prize for Poetry!  The annual prize is sponsored by the Poetry Foundation.  

Christian Wiman, editor of Poetry magazine had this to say in the official prize statement:  

"Until the excellent selected poems, Captive Voices, was published by LSU Press last year, virtually all of Taylor’s work was out of print. Her slow production (six books in 50 years), dislike of poetry readings (“It seems to me that it’s all for the person and not the poetry”), and unfashionable fidelity to narrative and clarity haven’t helped matters. And yet, as is so often the case, what’s been bad for the career has been good for the poems. With their intricately odd designs and careful, off-kilter music, their vital characters and volatile silences, the poems have a hard-won, homemade fatedness to them. You can feel their future." 

Eleanor Ross Taylor Awarded 2010 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize [The Poetry Foundation]

Apr 10

The Scary Mason-Dixon Line wins a CLA award!

9780807133958 Congratulations to Trudier Harris, author of The Scary Mason-Dixon Line: African American Writers and the South, for winning the College Language Association's Creative Scholarship Award for 2010!